Boston Region MPO - Membership

Home » About Us » Boston Region MPO

The Boston Region Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) is composed of 22 voting members and 2 nonvoting members. The current member entities and representatives are listed below.

Voting Members

Permanent Members

  • Massachusetts Department of Transportation (MassDOT) (3 votes) 
    Monica Tibbits-Nutt, Acting MassDOT Secretary and CEO 
    Designees: David Mohler, MassDOT; John Bechard, Highway Division; 
    John Romano, Highway Division 
  • Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority (MBTA) (1 vote) 
    Phillip Eng, General Manager 
    Designees: Jillian Linnell, Director, Capital Planning; Laura Gilmore, Director of Strategic Transit 
    Planning; Ali Kleyman, Senior Manager, Capital Program Planning 
  • MBTA Advisory Board (1 vote) 
    Brian Kane, Executive Director 
    Designee: Amira Patterson, Transportation Planner 
  • Massachusetts Port Authority (Massport) (1 vote) 
    Lisa Wieland, CEO 
    Designees: Sarah K. Lee, Senior Transportation Planner; Joel Barrera, Director of Strategic and Business Planning 
  • Metropolitan Area Planning Council (MAPC) (1 vote) 
    Marc Draisen, MAPC Executive Director 
    Designee: Eric Bourassa, Transportation Director 
  • Regional Transportation Advisory Council (1 vote) 
    Lenard Diggins, Chair; Franny Osman, Vice-Chair 
  • City of Boston (2 votes) 
    Michelle Wu, Mayor 
    Designees: Matthew Moran, Jen Rowe, Boston Transportation Department; Joe Blankenship, Jim Fitzgerald, Boston Planning & Development Agency

Elected Members

  • At-Large City, City of Everett (1 vote) 
    Term: 2020-2023 
    Carlo DeMaria, Mayor 
    Designees: Jay Monty, Transportation Planner, Eric Molinari, Transportation Planner 
  • At-Large Town, Town of Brookline (1 vote) 
    Term: 2020-2023 
    Bernard Greene, Select Board Chair 
    Designees: Rob King, Director of Transportation and Engineering; Dan Martin, Transportation Department; Mike Sandman, Select Board Member 
  • At-Large City, City of Newton (1 vote) 
    Term: 2021-2024 
    Ruthanne Fuller, Mayor 
    Designees: David Koses, Transportation Planning Coordinator; Jason Sobel, Department of Public Works; Joshua Ostroff, Department of Planning and Development 
  • At-Large Town, Town of Arlington (1 vote) 
    Term: 2021-2024 
    Eric Helmuth, Select Board Chair 
    Designee: John Alessi, Senior Transportation Planner 
  • Subregional Representative: North Shore Task Force, City of Beverly (1 vote) 
    Term: 2020-2023 
    Michael Cahill, Mayor 
    Designees: Darlene Wynne, Director of Planning & Development 
  • Subregional Representative: SouthWest Advisory Planning Committee, Town of Medway (1 vote) 
    Term: 2020-2023 
    Glenn Trindade, Select Board Chair 
    Designee: Peter Pelletier, Director, Department of Public Works 
  • Subregional Representative: North Suburban Planning Council, Town of Burlington (1 vote) 
    Term: 2021-2024 
    Michael Runyan, Select Board Chair 
    Designee: Melisa Tintocalis, Economic Development Director 
  • Subregional Representative: Three Rivers Interlocal Council, Town of Norwood (1 vote) 
    Term: 2021-2024 
    Matthew Lane, Chair, Board of Selectmen 
    Designees: Tom O'Rourke, Neponset River Regional Chamber President/CEO; 
    Steve Olanoff, Town of Westwood 
  • Subregional Representative: Inner Core Committee, City of Somerville (1 vote) 
    Term: 2022-2025 
    Katjana Ballantyne, Mayor 
    Designees: Thomas Bent, Mayor’s Liaison; 
    Brad Rawson, Director of Transportation and Infrastructure 
  • Subregional Representative: MetroWest Regional Collaborative, City of Framingham (1 vote) 
    Term: 2022-2025 
    Charlie Sisitsky, Mayor 
    Designees: Dennis Giombetti; Michael Tusino, COO; Sarkis Sarkisian, Director of Planning and Community Development 
  • Subregional Representative: Minuteman Advisory Group on Interlocal Coordination, Town of Acton (1 vote) 
    Term: 2022-2025 
    Jim Snyder-Grant, Select Board Chair 
    Designee: Kristen Guichard, Planning Director and Zoning Enforcement Officer 
  • Subregional Representative: South Shore Coalition, Town of Hull (1 vote) 
    Term: 2022-2025 
    Greg Grey, Select Board Chair 
    Designee: Chris DiIorio, Community Development and Planning Director

Nonvoting Members

  • Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) 
    Joi Singh, Massachusetts Division Administrator 
    Designee: Kenneth Miller, Assistant Division Administrator 
  • Federal Transit Administration (FTA) 
    Peter Butler, Acting Regional Administrator, FTA Region 1 
    Designees: Eric Papetti, Region 1 Director of the Office of Planning and Program Development

MPO Committees

The MPO currently has three active committees that help accomplish its work:

  • Administration and Finance Committee, to review the MPO staff operating budget, legal matters, and other administrative functions 
  • Congestion Management Process (CMP) Committee, to guide the implementation of this process 
  • Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) Committee, to provide input on the development of the UPWP and monitor progress on staff’s work

Please refer to the meeting calendar for a schedule of upcoming MPO committee meetings and materials.